This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse without changing your settings you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more in our Privacy Policy.

Łukasz Kuropaczewski - NOSPR

Łukasz KuropaczewskiGuitar

photo by Melissa Kavanagh

Łukasz Kuropaczewski, “an amiable bear of a soloist” as the Washington Post portrayed him after one of his performances with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, “is definitely the new megastar of the classical guitar.”
(El Nuevo Día, Puerto Rico)

He is in great demand as a recitalist and as soloist with orchestras, and he is invited to perform in numerous venues around the globe each year. Highlights include appearances in London’s Royal Festival Hall, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Warsaw’s National Philharmonic Hall, Tchaikovsky Concert Hall in Moscow, Tonhalle Zurich, Caramoor Music Festival, the Santa Fe Music Festival, and New York’s Carnegie Hall.

An avid chamber music collaborator, he frequently performs with the Orion String Quartet, mandolin player Avi Avital, Richard Galliano, Daniel Hope, Chen Reiss, members of Il Giardino Armonico.

He has inspired many composers to write work for his instrument. He premiered a guitar quintet, Acequias, by Marc Neikrug at the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, and his Three Pieces for Guitar at the Baltimore Museum of Art. He has premiered concertos by Angelo Gilardino, Krzysztof Meyer, Mikołaj Górecki, and Alexandre Tansman, and he made the guitar version of Krzysztof Penderecki’s Viola Concerto and premiered it with Sinfonia Varsovia and conductor Maximiano Valdés. In April 2022 he gave a world premiere of the new Concerto for Guitar by Marc Neikrug in Marseille, France, with Maestro Lawrence Foster conducting.

Łukasz Kuropaczewski is currently on the faculty of the Kunst University Graz, Austria, and Academy of Music in Poznań, Poland, holding a doctorate degree in performance.


We need some details, please